Der Doktorandenpreis wird vergeben für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen der Doktoranden und deren außergewöhnliches Engagement im Bereich Gesundheit und Umwelt.
Der Preis wird an drei Doktoranden für ihre außerordentlichen Dissertationen in den Bereichen Gesundheit- und Umweltforschung überreicht. Er ist mit je 1.500 € dotiert.
Der Doktorandenpreis wird getragen von der Helmholtz Graduate School Environmental Health (HELENA), dem VdFF und der Münchner Bank.

Liste der Gewinner seit 2010:


  • Dr. Manuel Albanese: Role of Epstein-Barr virus microRNAs in viral immune evasion
  • Dr. Sebastian Gerhard Doll: Identification of new pathway members of ferroptotic cell death
  • Dr. Katrin Christine Fischer: Novel regulators of energy metabolism: From alternatively activated macrophages to the role of the scaffold protein p62 in BAT thermogenesis



  • Ilona Elisabeth Kammerl  (supervised by Silke Meiners, Comprehensive Pneumology Center): Proteasome and immunoproteasome function in cigarette smoke-mediated chronic lung disease
  • Michael Laxy (supervised by Rolf Holle, Institut für Gesundheitsökonomie und Management im Gesundheitswesen): Disease Management and Outcomes in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes and Cardiovascular Comorbidities
  • Matthias Arnold (supervised by Hans-Werner Mewes,
    Institut für Bioinformatik und Systembiologie): Network-based SNP meta-analysis identifies joint and disjoint genetic features across common human diseases



  • Joanan Santos Barbosa (supervised by Prof. Dr. Magdalena Götz and Dr. Jovica Ninkovic, Institute of Stem Cell Research) : In vivo single cell analysis reveals distinct behavior of neural stem and progenitor cells in homeostasis and regeneration in the adult brain
  • Matthias Pfeifer (supervised by Dr. Klaus Mayer, Plant Genome and Systems Biology): The genome and transcriptome of Triticeae genomes and the impact of polyploidization




  • Daniel Nagel (supervised by Daniel Krappmann, Institute of Molecular Toxicology and Pharmacology): Identification and Characterization of Low Molecular MALT1 Inhibitors for ABC-DLBCL Therapy
  • Pouyan Mohajerani (supervised by Vasilis Ntziachristos, Institute of Biological and Medical Imaging): Robust Methods and Algorithms for Fluorescence Imaging and Tomography
  • Eva Schulte (supervised by Juliane Winkelmann, Insitute of Human Genetics): Genetic Variants in Restless Legs Syndrome and Parkinson’s Disease: the Rare, the Common and Everything in Between
  • Marie Standl (supervised by Joachim Heinrich, Insitute of Epidemiology 1):FADS Gene Variants, Diet and Atopic Phenotypes and Lipids in Children


  • Janina Ried (supervised by Christian Gieger, Institute of Genetic Epidemiology): Phenotype set enrichment analysis – genome wide analysis of multiple phenotypes
  • Katharina Vogel (supervised by Vigo Heissmeyer, Research Unit Molecular Immunoregulation): Roquin family proteins control T cell co-stimulation and differentiation
  • Ronny Stahl (supervised by Magdalena Götz, Institute of Stem Cell Research): Identification and functional analysis of Trnp1 – a novel DNA associated protein with a key role in neurogenesis



  • Simon Jochum (supervised by Wolfgang Hammerschmidt, Research Unit Gene Vectors): RNA transfer by Epstein-Barr virus triggers early events that regulate cell fate and promote immune evasion
  • Jan Krumsiek (supervised by Fabian Theis, Institute of Bioinformatics and Systems Biology): Computational modeling of metabolite dependencies: From metabolomics data to biochemical networks
  • Stefani Spranger (supervised by Dolores Schendel, Institute of Molecular Immunology): In vitro and in vivo analysis of human cell-based immunotherapies for acute myeloid leukemia



  • Ana Griciuc (supervised by Marius Ueffing, Research Unit Protein Science): Molecular and functional analysis of the ERAD effector VCP in cellular and Drosophila models for Retinitis pigmentosa
  • Martin Heidemann (supervised by Dirk Eick, Research Unit Molecular Epigenetics): Study of the modification pattern of the carboxy terminal domain of DNA-dependent RNA polymerase II and the identification of CTD serine-7 kinase
  • Veronica von Saint Paul (supervised by Anton Schäffner, Institute of Biochemical Plant Pathology): Stress inducible glycosyltransferases in Arabidopsis thaliana and their impact on plant metabolism and defense mechanisms



  • Elke Glasmacher (supervised by Vigo Heissmeyer, Research Unit Molecular Immunoregulation): Roquin binds to ICOS mRNA für P body-dependent and miRNA-independent posttranscriptional gene silencing
  • Martina Müller (supervised by Christian Gieger, Institute of Epidemiology I): Gentic association analysis with survival phenotypes
  • Hanna Eilken (supervised by Timm Schroeder, Institute of Stem Cell Research): Blood generation from hemogenic endothelium proven by continuous single-cell imaging